In light of the fact that Covid-19 lockdown in Serbia and other countries is likely to be extended by several weeks, we are forced to postpone the event until the travel situation is restored to normal. As potential alternatives, we are currently looking into rescheduling the conference either for September this year or spring 2021. We hope to have an update in early June.

This workshop was supposed to take place in Belgrade, Serbia, May 27-29, 2020. It aims to bring together people working in a broad area of interacting quantum systems, including in particular topological phases of matter and out-of-equilibrium physics, in a place that has a long tradition of training bright young physicists.

In recent years there has been an explosion of interest in many-body macroscopic quantum phenomena, i.e., those where strong quantum-mechanical correlations between particles lead to novel types of superconductivity, many-body localization, and topological phases of matter. Due to the remarkable experimental advances, these phenomena can now be probed in a variety of experimental systems, ranging from solid state, Van der Waals materials to synthetic systems of ultracold atoms, both in and out of equilibrium. By bringing together a diverse group of theorists and experimentalists, this focused workshop will survey the recent developments in the field of interacting quantum systems, and it will explore future directions in the investigations of topology and dynamics in the setting of strongly-entangled quantum matter.

Registration fees will be 150 euros (100 euros for PhD students). They will cover the transportation from and to the airport, coffee breaks and conference dinner.

Invited speakers

  • Dima Abanin (University of Geneva)
  • Andrei Bernevig (Princeton University)
  • Haim Beidenkopf (Weizmann Institute)
  • Hrvoje Buljan (University of Zagreb)
  • Vlad Dobrosavljevic (Florida State University)
  • Dimitri Efetov (ICFO)
  • Paul Fendley* (Oxford)
  • Mark Goerbig (Universite Paris-Saclay)
  • Masud Haque (Maynooth)
  • Walter Hofstetter (Goethe University Frankfurt)
  • Vladimir Juricic (Nordita)
  • Karyn Le Hur (Ecole Polytechnique)
  • Andrej Mesaros (Laboratoire de Physique des Solides, Orsay)
  • Milica Milovanovic (Institute of Physics Belgrade)
  • Cristiane Morais Smith (Institute for Theoretical Physics, Utrecht)
  • Stevan Nadj-Perge (Caltech)
  • Titus Neupert (University of Zurich)
  • Jiannis Pachos (University of Leeds)
  • Maksym Serbyn (IST Austria)
  • Steve Simon (Oxford)
  • Ady Stern (Weizmann Institute)
  • Ronny Thomale (Universitat Wurzburg)
  • Christof Weitenberg (University of Hamburg)
  • Ali Yazdani (Princeton University)
(* To be confirmed)


Zlatko Papic (University of Leeds), Nicolas Regnault (Ecole Normale Superieure Paris/CNRS/Princeton University) and Ivana Vasic (Institute of Physics Belgrade)




Ecole Normale Superieure (sponsor)        ANR (sponsor)    UKRI (sponsor)    IPB (sponsor)